The Mountain Times

°F Wed, April 16, 2014

Central Vermont's Most Popular Weekly Newspaper

Rugby players clean up for annual formal: Players receive accolades and new officers elected


Photo by Janet Salotti Page
Jaron Borg, Maxx Steinmetz and Jeff Whipple with their awards - Rookie of the Year, Most Improved Player and Most Valuable Player, respectively.

RUTLAND-The Rutland Rugby Football Club held their annual formal/dinner Saturday, Jan. 26. Hosted and sponsored by the Moose Lodge and the Women of the Moose, the club met together in it's entirety, along with representatives of additional sponsors and beneficiaries of fundraising efforts from throughout the year.

Accolades and officerships were then voted upon. For the 2012 season the following awards were given:

Rookie of the Year: Jaron Borg (Lock)
Most Improved Player: Maxx Steinmetz (Scrum-Half)
Most Valuable Player: Jeff Whipple (Eight-Man)
William Webb Ellis Award: Chuck Anderson (Scrum-Half, Club Creator)

The officers for the upcoming 2013 season are:

President: Matt "Beast" Pennington (Prop)
Treasurer: Dan Paolino (Lock)
Match Secretary: Maxx Steinmetz (Scrum-Half)
Social Director: Trevor "M.O.F." Smith (Winger)
P.R. Director: Peter "Pepsi" Dayton (Center)

Tagged: Rutland Rugby