Sports

Rules of the Game

Live insect interference

QUESTION:  Peter and John are playing in  tournament. On the second hole, Peter finds a live insect crawling on his ball on the putting green. Because the live insect is not adhering to the ball, it is considered a loose impediment, Peter removes the insect. In the removal of the insect, the ball moves. John says there is a penalty for causing the ball to move. Is John correct?

ANSWER: Peter proceeded correctly. However, if the ball was in the fairway, Peter would have incurred a penalty for causing the ball to move. The difference is whether the ball was on the green or on the fairway. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of,Golf, 2016-2017, 23-1/5

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10 a.m.-12 p.m. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!