Sports

Are strokes between holes practice strokes?

Question:  Carol and Dale are competing against each other in a stroke play tournament. On the fourth hole, Dale has holed out with a 4 and Carol lies 5 in the bunker.  Carol is aware she has lost the hole and practices a bunker shot.  Dale, says she should be penalized for playing a practice stroke between holes 4 and 5. Is Dale correct?

Answer: Strokes played between holes are not considered practice strokes after the results of the previous hole have been determined.  Carol, therefore, has done nothing wrong.  See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2017-2018, 7-2/1.5.  Rules for 2018-2019 have not yet been printed.  Dale is incorrect.

Golf clinics continue Saturday mornings, 10:30 a.m. to noon.  I continue to work on individual concerns.  Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!

MENU