Sports

Movable obstructions are not penalized

QUESTION: Terry and Jack are playing in a tournament. On the 7th hole, Terry’s tee shot lands in a water hazard in front of the green. The ball is playable but it is directly behind a stone, which has broken away from a retaining wall (an immovable obstruction). Terry is aware that relief from an immovable obstruction is not allowed without penalty. He says that the stone is a movable obstruction and, therefore, he is allowed relief without penalty. Jack says Terry must be penalized. Is Jack correct?

ANSWER: Although the stone came from the retaining wall, once it broke away, it became a movable obstruction. He may remove it without penalty. Jack is incorrect. Terry knows the rules. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2016-2017, 24/6.

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30-12-noon. Private lessons can also be arranged by calling GMNGC, 422-4653 or my cell phone, 802-422-4379. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!