Sports

Rules of the Game

By Alan Jeffery

QUESTION: Carol and Chad are playing in a tournament. After finishing play on the 10th hole, Chad borrows Carol’s putter and makes a number of practice strokes. Carol says Chad should be penalized for using her putter to practice putting. Is she correct?

ANSWER: Practice putting is permitted on the putting green of the last hole played, which was the 10th hole. The practice stroke was not used in Chad’s score. Chad is not penalized. See USGA Decisions on the Rule of Golf, 2014-2015, 4-4a/13

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings 10:30 to 12-noon. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!