Sports

Rules of the Game

QUESTION

Judy and Terry are playing in a tournament. On the second hole, Terry strokes his ball toward the water hazard. Without virtual certainty, he believes the ball is in the hazard. He plays another ball from where he stroked the original ball. He then finds the original ball outside the hazard. He decides to play the original ball.  Judy says Terry is not allowed to play the original ball and the second ball played is in play under penalty of stroke and distance. Is she correct?

ANSWER

Rule 24-1a and the definition of Lost Ball indicate the original ball is lost and the other ball is in play under stroke and distance penalty. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2014-2015, 26/6. Judy is correct.

Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30-12:00.  We continue to work on individual concerns.  Private lessons can also be arranged by calling me at GMNGC (422-GOLF).  Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Alan Jeffery is a golf professional at GMNGC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!