Sports

Teed ball tips over

QUESTION: Rich and Jim are playing in a tournament. On the 6th hole, Jim takes a practice swing in the teeing area. Unintentionally, he strikes and moves his teed ball with his club. Rich says Jim should be penalized a stroke for moving a ball in play. Is Rich correct?
ANSWER: Because Jim did not make a forward movement of his club with the intention of moving the ball, he did not make a stroke. The ball, therefore, was not in play. There is no penalty. Jim has to put the ball into play from the teeing ground. Rich is not correct. See “USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf, 2016-2017,” 18-2/19.
Golf clinics continue on Saturday mornings, 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m. Private lessons can also be arranged by calling 422-GOLF. Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!