Sports

Does touching the sand incur a penalty?

By: Alan Jeffery

QUESTION: Susan and Bill are playing in a tournament. On the seventh hole, Susan’s ball rests just outside a bunker. She takes her stance in the bunker, which she believes gives her the best opportunity to get on the green. She then makes a backswing and in doing so, touches the sand in the bunker. Bill says she should be penalized for touching the sand. Is Bill correct?
ANSWER: The ball is not in the hazard. The rules, therefore, allow Susan to touch the sand or ground her club in making a backswing. It should be noted the sand should be touched lightly. See USGA Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2016-2017, 13-4/1. Bill is not correct.
Golf clinics continue Saturday mornings at the driving range, 10:30-12 noon. Private lessons can also be arranged by calling GMNGC (422-GOLF). Remember, the swing’s the thing and continuous improvement is what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mountain Times Newsletter

Sign up below to receive the weekly newsletter, which also includes top trending stories and what all the locals are talking about!